Skip to main content

Faculty

Photo: Kelly Becker

Kelly Becker

Professor,  Outcomes Assessment Coordinator

Email: kbecker@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 527
Hours: By appointment only

Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Quine.

Photo: Mary Domski

Mary Domski

Professor,  Presidential Teaching Fellow

Email: mdomski@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 531
Hours: Mondays 8:30-9:30; Tuesdays 9:30-10:30 and by appointment

Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Newtonian Science and the Scientific Revolution, Kant, Philosophy of Science.

Photo: Barbara Ellen Hannan

Barbara Ellen Hannan

Professor,  TA/156-coordinator

Email: bhannan@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 561
Hours: Tuesdays & Thursdays 2:00-3:00; and by appointment

Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Epistemology and Philosophy of Law.

Photo: Pierre-Julien Harter

Pierre-Julien Harter

Assistant Professor,  The Robert H.N. Ho Family Foundation Professor of Philosophy in Buddhist Studies, Phi Sigma Tau Advisor

Email: pjharter@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 553
Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 10:00-11:00; and by appointment

Interests: Buddhist philosophy in India and Tibet, Indian philosophy, ancient philosophy, continental philosophy

Photo: Adrian Johnston

Adrian Johnston

Distinguished Professor,  Department Chair

Email: aojohns@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 557
Hours: Mondays 9:30-11:30; and by appointment

Interests: German idealism, Marxism, psychoanalysis, metaphysics, political philosophy, and philosophy of science.

Photo: Brent Kalar

Brent Kalar

Associate Professor,  Undergraduate Advisor

Email: kalar@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 549
Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays & Fridays 12:15-1:00; and by appointment

Interests: Aesthetics, Hermeneutics, and Philosophy of Culture.

Photo: Paul Livingston

Paul Livingston

Professor,  Graduate Director

Email: pmliving@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 551
Hours: Wednesdays & Friday 1:00-2:00; and by appointment

Interests: Philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, and phenomenology.

Photo: Emily McRae

Emily McRae

Associate Professor,  Speakers Coordinator

Email: emcrae@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 525
Hours: Tuesdays & Thursdays 11:00-12:00; and by appointment

Interests: Buddhist philosophy, comparative philosophy, moral psychology, feminism

Photo: Ann V Murphy

Ann V Murphy

Associate Professor

Email: avmurphy@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 547
Hours: On Sabbatical

Interests: Feminist Theory, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Philosophies of Violence and Nonviolence, Social and Political Philosophy.

Photo: John Taber

John Taber

Professor,  Regents' Professor

Email: jataber@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 529
Hours: By appointment only

Interests: Indian Philosophy, Brahamanical and Buddhist traditons, Sanskrit.

Photo: Iain Thomson

Iain Thomson

Professor,  Honors Advisor

Email: ithomson@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 523
Hours: Thursdays 2:00-3:15; and by appointment

Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental philosophy, esp. Heidegger.

 

Emeritus Faculty

Photo: Andrew Burgess

Andrew Burgess

Emeritus,  Professor

Email: andrewburgess7@gmail.com
Photo: John Bussanich

John Bussanich

Emeritus

Email: john.bussanich@gmail.com
Hours: By appointment only

Interests: Greek Philosophy, Philosophies of India, Presocratics, Socrates, Plato, Neoplatonism, South Asian Mysticism.

Photo: Russell Goodman

Russell Goodman

Emeritus,  Regents' Professor

Email: rgoodman@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 457
Hours: By appointment.

Interests: Wittgenstein, American Philosophy, Aesthetics.

Photo: Richard Hayes

Richard Hayes

Emeritus,  Associate Professor

Email: rhayes@unm.edu

Donald C. Lee

Emeritus

 

Howard N. Tuttle

Emeritus

 

 

Lecturers

Michael Candelaria

Lecturer,  Principal Lecturer

Email: mcandel@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 465
Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:00-12:00; and by appointment
Photo: Lisa Gerber

Lisa Gerber

Lecturer,  Principal Lecturer

Email: lgerber@unm.edu
Office: HUM 467
Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays 11:00-11:50; and by appointment

Joachim Oberst

Lecturer,  Lecturer III

Email: joberst@unm.edu
Office: HUM 563
Hours: Tuesdays 2:00-3:30; and by appointment

 

Adjunct Faculty

Brian Gatsch

Adjunct

Email: bgatsch@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 533
Hours: By appointment only.

Carolyn Thomas

Adjunct

Email: cthom@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 553
Hours: By appointment only.

Elly Van Mil

Adjunct

Email: evanmil@unm.edu
Hours: By appointment only.