Department of Philosophy

MSC 03 2140
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:
Humanities (HUM)
513

Phone: (505) 277-2405
Fax: (505) 277-6362

Faculty

Photo: Kelly Becker

Kelly Becker

Professor,  TA/156 Coordinator

Email: kbecker@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 527
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Quine.

Photo: John Bussanich

John Bussanich

Professor

Email: john.bussanich@gmail.com
Office: Humanities 555
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Greek Philosophy, Philosophies of India, Presocratics, Socrates, Plato, Neoplatonism, South Asian Mysticism.

Photo: Mary Domski

Mary Domski

Associate Professor,  Department Chair, Presidential Teaching Fellow

Email: mdomski@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 531
Hours: by appointment

Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Newtonian Science and the Scientific Revolution, Kant, Philosophy of Science.

Photo: Barbara Ellen Hannan

Barbara Ellen Hannan

Professor

Email: bhannan@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 561
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Epistemology and Philosophy of Law.

Pierre Julien Harter

Assistant Professor,  The Robert H.N. Ho Family Foundation Professor of Philosophy in Buddhist Studies

 
Office: Humanities 553
Photo: Adrian Johnston

Adrian Johnston

Professor

Email: aojohns@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 557
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Nineteenth and twentieth-century European philosophy, contemporary Continental philosophy, Freudian-Lacanian psychoanalysis, political theory, and the neurosciences.

Photo: Brent Kalar

Brent Kalar

Associate Professor

Email: kalar@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 549
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Aesthetics, Hermeneutics, and Philosophy of Culture.

Photo: Paul Livingston

Paul Livingston

Professor,  Phi Sigma Tau Advisor

Email: pmliving@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 551
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, and phenomenology.

Photo: Emily  McRae

Emily  McRae

Assistant Professor,  English-Philosophy Advisor, Undergraduate Advisor

Email: emcrae@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 525
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Buddhist philosophy, comparative philosophy, moral psychology, feminism

Photo: Ann V Murphy

Ann V Murphy

Associate Professor,  Graduate Director

Email: avmurphy@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 547
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Feminist Theory, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Philosophies of Violence and Nonviolence, Social and Political Philosophy.

Photo: John Taber

John Taber

Professor,  Regents' Professor

Email: jataber@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 529
Hours: by appointment

Interests: Indian Philosophy, Brahamanical and Buddhist traditons, Sanskrit.

Photo: Iain Thomson

Iain Thomson

Professor,  Honors Advisor

Email: ithomson@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 523
Hours: by appointment

Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental philosophy, esp. Heidegger.

 

Emeritus Faculty

Photo: Andrew Burgess

Andrew Burgess

Emeritus,  Professor

Email: andrewburgess7@gmail.com
Photo: Russell Goodman

Russell Goodman

Emeritus,  Regents' Professor

Email: rgoodman@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 457
Hours: By appointment.

Interests: Wittgenstein, American Philosophy, Aesthetics.

Photo: Richard Hayes

Richard Hayes

Emeritus,  Associate Professor

Email: rhayes@unm.edu

Donald C. Lee

Emeritus

 

Howard N. Tuttle

Emeritus

 

 

Lecturers

Michael Candelaria

Lecturer,  Principal Lecturer

Email: mcandel@unm.edu
Office: HUM 465
Hours: by appointment

Lisa Gerber

Lecturer,  Senior Lecturer

Email: lgerber@unm.edu
Office: HUM 467
Hours: by appointment

Joachim Oberst

Lecturer,  Lecturer III

Email: joberst@unm.edu
Office: HUM 447
Hours: by appointment

 

Adjunct Faculty

Brian Gatsch

Adjunct

Email: bgatsch@unm.edu
Office: Humanities 533
Hours: by appointment

Carolyn Thomas

Adjunct

Email: cthom@unm.edu
Hours: by appointment

Elly Van Mil

Adjunct

Email: evanmil@unm.edu
Hours: by appointment