O'Neil Lecture Series

The Brian O’Neil Memorial Lectures in the History of Philosophy have been given at the University of New Mexico since 1988/89. They are funded from an endowment established by the friends, students, and colleagues of the late Professor Brian O’Neil, with help from the UNM Foundation and the Gwen J. Barrett Fund.

Brian O’Neil received both his undergraduate and graduate education from the University of California at Berkeley, starting as a freshman when he was already in his early forties and working straight through to the Ph.D. degree. He was the author of a number of articles in philosophical journals, and a few years after he came to New Mexico he published a book entitled Epistemological Direct Realism In Descartes’ Philosophy (UNM Press, 1974). His entire professional career was spent in the UNM Philosophy Department, where he was for many years a widely loved and respected teacher of the history of philosophy. His wit, kindness, and deep interest in both the subject he taught and the students to whom he taught it left a lasting impression on all who knew him. He died from cancer in 1985.

The Brian O’Neil Memorial Lecture Series
in the History of Philosophy
Past Speakers

Martin Hagglund2022/2023
Maria Heim2018/2019
Catherine Wilson2017/2018
Jonardon Ganeri2016/2017
Steven Nadler2015/2016
John McDowell2014/2015
Julia Annas2013/2014
Robert Pippin2011/2012
Alan Richardson2010/2011
Paul Guyer2009/2010
Hilary Putnam2008/2009
Slavoj Žižek2007/2008
Frederick Beiser2006/2007
Stephen Menn2005/2006
Jonathan Lear2004/2005
Beatrice Longuenesse2003/2004
Myles Burnyeat2002/2003
Hubert L. Dreyfus2001/2002
Michael Friedman2000/2001
Terry Penner1999/2000
Allen Wood1998/1999
Alasdair MacIntyre1997/1998
Alexander Nehamas1996/1997
Alan Code1994/1995
Barry Stroud1993/1994
Burton Dreben1992/1993
Edwin Curley1991/1992
Richard Wollheim1990/1991
Richard Popkin1989/1990
Ernan McMullin1988/1989

The following lectures have been published in individual pamphlet form and may be obtained from the Department of Philosophy (1 University of New Mexico, MSC 03 2140, Albuquerque, NM, 87131-0001, USA, www.unm.edu/~thinker) at a price of $3 each.

MacIntyre, Alasdair [1997/98]. "Rival Aristotles: (1) Aristotle Against Some Renaissance Aristotelians, (2) Aristotle Against Some Modern Aristotelians."

Wood, Allen [1998/99]. "Autonomy as the Ground of Morality: (1) The Idea of Autonomy in Kant, (2) Selfhood and Autonomy in Fichte."

Michael Friedman [2000/2001]. "Kant on the Foundations of Science and Experience: (1) Transcendental Philosophy and Mathematical Physics, (2) Scientific Experience and Ordinary Experience."

Slavoj Žižek [2007/2008] Lecture may be seen by clicking on this link.

Recent / Upcoming Lectures

Rebecca-Comay-O'Neil (title name)

Speaker: Rebecca Comay
University of Toronto

When: Mar 28, 2024 - 03:30pm - 05:30pm

Where: TBA

read more

The Life and Death of Rational Animals

Speaker: Martin Hagglund
Yale University

When: Apr 07, 2023 - 03:00pm - 05:00pm

Where: Mitchell Hall 102

read more