Faculty

Tenure-Stream Faculty

Photo: Kelly Becker

Professor

Email:
kbecker@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 527
Hours:
ON LEAVE

Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Quine.

Photo: Mary Domski

Professor,  Presidential Teaching Fellow

Email:
mdomski@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 531
Hours:
Wednesdays 8:30 to 9:30am via Zoom and by appointment

Interests: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Newtonian Science and the Scientific Revolution, Kant, Philosophy of Science.

Photo: Pierre-Julien Harter

Assistant Professor,  The Robert H.N. Ho Family Foundation Professor of Philosophy in Buddhist Studies

Email:
pjharter@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 555
Hours:
By appointment only

Interests: Buddhist philosophy in India and Tibet, Indian philosophy, ancient philosophy, continental philosophy

Photo: Adrian Johnston

Distinguished Professor

Email:
aojohns@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 557
Hours:
By Appointment Only

Interests: German idealism, Marxism, psychoanalysis, metaphysics, political philosophy, and philosophy of science.

Photo: Brent Kalar

Associate Professor,  Undergraduate Advisor

Email:
kalar@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 549
Hours:
Tuesday & Thursday 10:00-10:50AM and by appointment

Interests: Aesthetics, Hermeneutics, and Philosophy of Culture.

Photo: Paul Livingston

Professor,  Phi Sigma Tau Advisor

Email:
pmliving@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 551
Hours:
Tuesday, 100-300PM

Interests: Philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, and phenomenology.

Photo: Emily McRae

Associate Professor,  Graduate Director

Email:
emcrae@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 525
Hours:
Tuesday and Thursday 100-1200PM

Interests: Buddhist philosophy, comparative philosophy, moral psychology, feminism

Photo: Ann V Murphy

Professor,  Department Chair

Email:
avmurphy@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 547
Hours:
By appointment

Interests: Philosophy of Gender, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Philosophies of Violence and Nonviolence, Social and Political Philosophy.

Photo: Iain Thomson

Professor,  Honors Advisor

Email:
ithomson@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 523
Hours:
Friday 100–2:15PM and by appointment

Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental philosophy, esp. Heidegger.

 

Lecturers

Principal Lecturer

Email:
mcandel@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 465
Hours:
TBD
Photo: Lisa Gerber

Principal Lecturer

Email:
lgerber@unm.edu
Office:
HUM 467
Hours:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday 100-200PM and by appointment

Principal Lecturer

Email:
joberst@unm.edu
Office:
HUM 563
Hours:
Wednesdays 10:00-11:30 and by appointment

 

Part-Time Instructors

Term Teacher

Email:
bgatsch@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 533
Hours:
By appointment only.

Term Teacher

Email:
cthom@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 553
Hours:
By appointment only

 

Emeritus Faculty

Photo: Andrew Burgess

Emeritus,  Professor

Email:
andrewburgess7@gmail.com
Photo: John Bussanich

Emeritus,  Professor

Email:
john.bussanich@gmail.com
Hours:
By appointment only

Interests: Greek Philosophy, Philosophies of India, Presocratics, Socrates, Plato, Neoplatonism, South Asian Mysticism.

Photo: Russell Goodman

Emeritus,  Regents' Professor

Email:
rgoodman@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 457
Hours:
By appointment.

Interests: Wittgenstein, American Philosophy, Aesthetics.

Photo: Barbara Ellen Hannan

Emeritus,  Professor

Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Epistemology and Philosophy of Law.

Photo: Richard Hayes

Emeritus,  Associate Professor

Email:
rhayes@unm.edu
Photo: John Taber

Emeritus,  Regents' Professor

Email:
jataber@unm.edu
Office:
Humanities 529
Hours:
TBD

Interests: Indian Philosophy, Brahamanical and Buddhist traditons, Sanskrit.